Categories: Merritt Island

28 High School Seniors to Receive Medals of Merit

MELBOURNE, Florida — Congressman Bill Posey will present 28 High School Seniors from across the 15th Congressional District with the Congressional Medal of Merit for outstanding achievement in academics and service. The ceremony will take place today at 4:00 PM in the Brevard County Commission Chambers located in Building C of the Brevard County Government Complex in Viera, Florida.

One student from each participating high school has been nominated by their respective school administrators to receive the Medal of Merit. 

“Hard work and achievement by all young people should be applauded and these awards help ensure that their outstanding accomplishments do not go unrecognized,” said Congressman Bill Posey. 

Following the presentation of Medals of Merit, Posey will award the Silver Congressional Award Medal to student Christian Teather for the good works he has done for the betterment of his community and for the goals he has set for his own personal development. 

“Christian Teather’s work exemplifies the cornerstones of this Congressional Award – service to others, initiative and achievement,” said Posey. “It’s the highest honor to be bestowed upon America’s youth. Recipients do not win this award, they earn it.” 

The Silver Congressional Award Medal was established by Congress in 1979 by Public Law 94-114, the Congressional Award Act. Bronze, Silver and Gold Medals are presented to young people who meet specific requirements regardless of physical, mental or socio-economic circumstances. Participants must set challenging goals for the betterment of themselves and their communities in four areas: voluntary public service, personal development, physical fitness, and expedition/exploration. The only other medal awarded by the United States Congress is the Medal of Honor. 

More than 6,500 awards have been earned representing well over 1.5 million volunteer hours performed in community service across America. Recipients of the Service Award are determined by the Congressional Award Foundation, a nonpartisan, public-private partnership made up of volunteer individuals and Members of Congress appointed by the Joint Leadership of Congress. The Congressional Award Foundation is a 501 (C) 3 and receives no federal funding. 

Below is a list of Congressional Medal of Merit Recipients:

Amanda Baughan – Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy
Megan Cherubino – Bayside High School
Alexis Evcolani – Melbourne Central Catholic High School
Kate Fisher – Edgewood Jr./Sr. High School
Laura Gamo – Rockledge High School
Aaron Jordan – Palm Bay High School
Robert Judd – Florida Air Academy
Hannah Kendrick – Heritage High School
Jacob Kimmel – Satellite High School
Manali Patel Eau – Gallie High School
Tyler Scull Merritt – Island High School
Brett Shore – Viera High School
Kyle Straus – Melbourne High School
Joel Wadzinski – West Shore Jr./Sr. High School
Racheal Yosheda – Cocoa High School 

Paul Colella – Saint Edward’s High School
Sami Hashmi – Vero Beach High School
Sean Ledford – Sebastian River High School
Jennifer Stenback – Indian River Charter High School

Ryan Bender – Saint Cloud High School
Madelyn Duran – Gateway High School
Monika England – Liberty High School
Kenya Freitas – Poinciana High School
Logan Matlock – Life Christian Academy
Alexander Miller – Osceola High School
Isaac Ortiz – New Dimensions High School
Rachel Zewe – Harmony High School 

Brooke Watts – Ridge Community High School 

Brevard County Third Graders Outperform State Average on FCATs

Copyright 2011-2023 Brevard Times. All Rights Reserved.  Contact Us   Privacy Policy